The Post Box at the North Pole by Jaimie Admans

Firstly. how gorgeous is this cover? It just screams Christmas, cosy, romance, escapist and everything this book promises to be. I absolutely adore it. Jaimie’s 2020 Christmas release, The Little Christmas Shop on Nutcracker Lane, was my favourite Christmas read of 2020. Would this book live up to that high?!

Blurb:

Sasha Hansley hates Christmas. As a child, it was her favourite time of year, but ever since the tragic death of her mother, it has completely lost its magic.

But when she gets an unexpected phone call from her estranged father, she’s forced to dust off her snow boots.

He’s been running a Lapland style Christmas village in Norway and after suffering a heart attack, he is on strict doctor’s orders to slow down. Eager to reconnect with her dad, Sasha books the next flight out there. Only she’s never actually been on a plane before, let alone to the Arctic Circle.

Met at the runway by drop-dead-gorgeous Taavi Salvesen, they sleigh ride through the snow with the Northern Lights guiding their way.

When Sasha uncovers sacks of unopened Santa mail – letters that children and adults from all over the world write to Santa every year – she realises that she can send a little bit of magic out into the world by replying to some of them.

With Taavi on hand to help, will Sasha rediscover her own excitement for Christmas and find love among the letters?

The Post Box at the North Pole is like one big romantic mug of hot chocolate with extra whipped cream and a splash of Christmas magic! Fans of Holly Martin, Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain will love this novel!

My thoughts:

For everyone who still looks to the skies on Christmas Eve and hopes to see something magical.

Well, it was a tough ask but this is definitely on a par with, if not better than, Jaimie’s previous Christmas release. I’m not sure how any other seasonal book I read this year will top it.

I devoured the book very quickly as I found it quite unputdownable, and I finished it feeling bereft that it was ending and I was having to leave the North Pole Forest.

This is a sparkling and touching book where the warmth of the characters, their homes and hearts juxtapose the cold and brutal setting. That’s not to say these characters are perfect, as they’ve certainly got their issues that they need to overcome and grievances to face. Sasha is a reliable, generous character but she is also lacking in self-confidence and self-belief, which results in some sticky white lies in an attempt to make her father proud! Her father, is a proud old man who still seems to be struggling to find his place in the world. Tav is an independent, stubborn man but is also the most hard-working, thoughtful and beautiful man you’re ever likely to meet (real or fictional!). I just adored these lively, relatable characters.

“The lights above are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen, and I have an overwhelming feeling of emotion. This is something I never, ever imagined I’d see in my lifetime…”

This is just one of the stunning descriptions in this book of the beautiful North Pole Forest setting. I don’t really know if this is a ‘real place’, but during reading this book I definitely felt transported to this magical, icy wonderland. Jaimie is clearly a talented storyteller and creator or perfect Christmas settings!

The story itself also carries you along and I definitely found myself lost in it. It is an emotional rollercoaster, a romance in some senses but also a beautiful exploration of home, identity, family, relationships, love and the meaning and relevance of Christmas in the 21st century.

“I’ve always thought that happily every after begins with happily – you’ve got to be in the right place to find it.”

If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I absolutely would as I adored it from start to finish. I would recommend this book to fans of festive fiction from authors such as Milly Johnson and Sarah Morgan.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

2 thoughts on “The Post Box at the North Pole by Jaimie Admans

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s